• Recent Posts: Influencer Relations

    IDC could flourish after IDG’s sale to Chinese consortium

    IDC could flourish after IDG’s sale to Chinese consortium

    As we predicted in our April Fool’s Joke last year, IDC has been sold as part of a Chinese-led purchase that leaves CEO Kirk Campbell at the helm. IDG Capital will take control of the IDG Ventures; China Oceanwide will control IDG and most of IDC, and an independent trustee will take control of IDC’s High Performance Computing (HPC) practice, […]

    Kea Company acquires UK analyst relations consultancy Active Influence

    Kea Company acquires UK analyst relations consultancy Active Influence

    Merger consolidates Kea Company’s position as world’s largest analyst relations consultancy January 19, 2017. London — Kea Company, the world’s largest analyst relations consultancy, today completed its acquisition of Active Influence. Founded in 2010, Active Influence has helped many of the world’s largest technology companies to gain measurable business benefit from their relationships with analyst firms. Founder Richard East has become […]

    Top ten global analysts: 2016’s outstanding research

    Top ten global analysts: 2016’s outstanding research

    2016 produced some outstanding analyst research. We’ve picked the best articles from each of the world’s ten leading analysts firms, as ranked in the 2017 Analyst Firm Awards. Together they show how diverse analysts’ most compelling content can be, including deep quantitative research into mature markets, like cellphones; pointed competitive insight into corporate changes, like Dell’s integration of EMC, and […]

    IDC overtakes HfS in 2017 global Analyst Firm Awards

    IDC overtakes HfS in 2017 global Analyst Firm Awards

    Gartner and Forrester’s leadership is no surprise, but this year IDC has won back third place in our annual Analyst Firm Awards, pushing HfS Research into a still-impressive fourth place. PAC and Ovum have also risen substantially this year, rounding out the top six. In last year’s awards, we saw that firms that could create business leads for their clients […]

    Analyst Value Survey shows deeper frustration with industry analysts

    Analyst Value Survey shows deeper frustration with industry analysts

    I’ve been in New York this week discussing the Analyst Value Survey with both Kea clients and industry analysts. The 2017 report will be available early in January, but the responses show that many users of analysts’ services are reaching out to more firms than before, and are gathering quite uneven value. Firstly, the good news is that many users […]

Burton Group launches new Data Management Service

Here is a high level description from the DMS Blog:

“…Burton Group today introduced a new research service, Data Management Strategies (DMS), which is focused on domains including:

  • Business intelligence (BI) — including data mining, data warehousing, enterprise reporting, online analytical processing (OLAP), predictive analytics, and other BI topics
  • Data management — e.g., data modeling, data integration, master data management, data governance, and more
  • Database management, including assessments of leading commercial and open source database management systems (DBMSs), and coverage of multiple database models (relational, XML, streaming, and others)
  • Data-related technologies and standards, such as XQuery, XML schema languages, and business domain data models

DMS is a full Burton Group research service, offering a stream of research publications along with customer dialogues and telebriefings. You can read more about the service details on the DMS home page. DMS is also closely aligned with other Burton Group research services, and with Burton Group’s new IT1 offering. …”

For more information visit the DMS service description page. There is also a podcast you can download from here.  The podcast is also available on iTunes. It is part the “Burton Group Inflection Point” series.

Analysts associated with this service include:

  • Chris Haddad
    • Vice President and Service Director
    • Emphases: XML, J2EE, SOA, web services, open source, data integration, metadata management, REST
  • Joe Bugajski
    • Senior Analyst
    • Emphases: enterprise architecture, data access strategies, data strategies, application engineering, information integration and quality, technology standards, model driven architecture
  • Joe Maguire
    • Senior Analyst
    • Emphases: data modeling tools, data modeling techniques, off-the-shelf data models
  • Peter O’Kelly
    • Vice President and Research Director
    • Emphases: XML, strategies for collaboration, database management systems, document/database systems convergence
  • Walter Lee
    • Analyst
    • Emphases: business intelligence, data warehousing, OLAP, data mining, predictive analytics

 Burton Group is offering a complimentary, live TeleBriefing to introduce this new Burton Group coverage area:

Tuesday, June 10, 2008, 2:00 p.m. EDT/11:00 a.m. PDT/18:00 UTC GMT/20:00 CET
Wednesday, June 11, 2008, 9:00 a.m. EDT/6:00 a.m. PDT/13:00 UTC GMT/15:00 CET

To register: Click here, or Call 800.824.9924 ext. 174

%d bloggers like this: